My Week, but He is Strong

I haven’t blogged much lately.  Two weeks ago I was out of town on a retreat and was away from my computer for a week.  It is not a terrible thing.  I had to survive on only a cell phone.  Next time I might leave it at home.

I came back to a busy week last week.  I would say that, “It was one of those kinds of weeks….”, but lately I’ve had so few of that kind of week that the phrase just doesn’t seem to fit.  It was a holy-wholly unusual kind of week.  My daughter needed her father.  My oldest son spent time with his dad.  My younger son and his wife gave us our first grandchild.  I looked into my wife’s eyes as she looked into the eyes of her newborn granddaughter.  It seemed so right and yet so unreal, because to me she is still that girl I first met on a beach in a red bikini (she not me).

If that wasn’t enough (and it was), God was just beginning to show off.  On Friday, Life Family Church closed on its new facility at 2271 Matlock Rd. in Mansfield, Texas.  For our little church, it is a miracle of epic proportions.  Built in 2004, the building has been vacant almost ever since.  As I walk through the dusty rooms, my mind’s eye hears children laughing, friend’s embracing, spiritual songs being sung, God praised and lives lifted.  I hear His children laughing.

I like to think that I am a complicated man, but I am not.  Yearning is not complicated.  It is possibly the most basic expression of life that there is.  I often walk with my head down, but my heart yearns.  I yearn for redemption.  I yearn for restoration.  I yearn for restoration in my relationships.  I yearn for God.  Because I know myself, I often walk with my head down; but because my heart knows God, I long to see Him move.

Last week, even through the fog of my personal battles with distrust and disbelief – I saw Him move.  I know what it is to say like King David that, “He is the lifter of my head”.  Humbly, my vision adjusted, I will take another step.

Maybe your pastor does not speak this way.  I pray that is because he is a stronger and not a weaker man than I.  I don’t tell you that God is real and that God is good because I am strong; but because He is strong.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a comment